Interesting Article – “I’m Not Afraid to Raise Daughters” by Jen Wilkin

Screen shot 2013-02-11 at 6.41.54 PM
I wanted to share this article because it’s an interesting read. The author (Jen Wilkin) is a mother for four, and she asks the question “Why do men with sons seem to express ‘gladness’ that they don’t have daughters?” Here is a quick excerpt: (Full link to the article here)

“I reject this analysis of the risk. I reject the fear-mongering apparitions of predatory sons and pregnant daughters as motivators for my parenting. This philosophy believes a pregnant daughter is the worst thing a parent has to fear. This is far from the truth. My greatest concern cannot be that they reach marriage unsullied and unharmed—it must be that they grow to love God above all else. If they make mistakes on the road to adulthood, even mistakes with permanent consequences, we must face them bravely and run to their Savior for forgiveness and help.

Do you think your sons are at less risk to be harmed by wrong decisions? You take too much comfort in their lack of a uterus. You have calculated the risk only in physical terms. There are always consequences for sin—some of them just gestate longer. If you considered my daughters as valuable as if they were your own, you would raise different sons. In all likelihood, one day you will have daughters. Raise sons who choose them well.”

She questions the culture that makes it seem “safer” to raise sons over daughters. Men typically are afraid to have daughters because they know what young boys are like, and that’s where the fundamental problem is. I believe men have a responsibility to be examples to younger boys to teach them how to respect and treat women – a responsibility so many men have forgotten. What are your feelings on the subject? Parents, what are your thoughts? Weigh in.

~ Signing off.

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Interesting Article – “I’m Not Afraid to Raise Daughters” by Jen Wilkin

  1. Hi there, I enjoy reading through your article post.
    I wanted to write a little comment to support you.

  2. Morgan says:

    Well I am DEF not a mom right now but one day I hope to be. I remember how my dad behaved when I began dating. Men do know what boys are like. My father did what he could by showing my the signs of a boy that just wants to get into my pants vs a boy who wants me for me. He gave me the leg up. But he did not do it through conversation… My father taught me through his actions. He showed me how I was supposed to be treated. He is a man of few words but his actions spoke so clear to me. As long as a father treats his daughter right, have no fear. She knows how being loved is supposed to feel.

Leave a Reply

